Hans Tschida from Angerhof Tschida in Illmitz, Burgenland has been named International Wine Challenge “Sweet Winemaker of the Year” for the third consecutive year.

Tim Atkin awards Hans Tschida and his son Andreas “Sweet Winemaker of the Year”

When asked what his secret for producing sweet wines, Hans Tschida replies, “The secret is the climate of the Seewinkel region on the east side of Lake Neusiedl. The long autumns with abundant sunshine and morning fog make the region predestined for great botrytized sweet wines.” Certainly the man is underplaying the painstaking efforts of he and his family. The Angerhof Tschida vineyards are located in the Seewinkel wildlife preserve which is a habitat for abundant birds. 10 kilometres of nets per vineyard hectare are required to protect ripening grapes from being plundered. Grapes are hand picked and selected and the vinification requires an attentive hand to achieve the focus, clarity of expression and balance for which the Tschida Angerhof wines are so highly esteemed.

The Tschida Angerhof wines won a total of eight gold, nine silver and three bronze medals, which also won Tschida the Austrian Sweet Wine Trophy and the Scheurebe Trophy.  IWC Co-Chairman Charles Metcalfe presented family Tschida with the Trophy for Austrian Sweet Wine and the Trophy for Scheurebe  preceding the Awards Dinner Gala held at the Hilton Park Lane Hotel in London on Tuesday 11 September 2012. Hans Tschida was thrilled as he was called up to the main stage during the Event to be  awarded Sweet Wine Maker of the Year by Tim Atkin MW. Metcalfe announced that, “Angerhof Tschida has excelled with a series of exquisite sweet wines that showcase the pedigree of the Burgenland region of Austria”.

Hans Tschida was thrilled to be awarded Sweet Winemaker of the Year for the third consecutive year.


The prestigious Sweet Winemaker of the year was well deserved. This is the list Angerhof Tschida’s award winning wines at the International Wine Challenge 2012:

Gold Medal: 2007 Chardonnay Trockenbeerenauslese

Gold Medal: 2009 Gelber Muskateller Eiswein

Gold Medal: 2010 Gelber Muskateller Eiswein

Gold Medal: 2008 Gelber Muskateller Schilfwein

Gold Medal and Trophy: 2007 Sämling Beerenauslese

Gold Medal: 2010 Sämling Beerenauslese

Gold Medal: Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Gold Medal: Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2010 Chardonnay Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2004 Muskat Ottonel Schilfwein

Silver Medal: 2009 Muskat Ottonel Schilfwein

Silver Medal: 2006 Sämling Beerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2004 Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2005 Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2007 Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2008 Sämling Trockenbeerenauslese

Silver Medal: 2010 Sauvignon Blanc Beerenauslese

Bronze Medal: 2006 Muskat Ottonel Schilfwein

Bronze Medal: 2010 Welschriesling Beerenauslese

Bronze Medal: 2009 Zweigelt Schilfwein

This year, around 12,000 wines were entered, and these were tasted by 380 IWC wine judges, who are international Masters of Wine, wine producers, wine merchants and wine journalists. Six chairmen oversaw the tasting panels: Tim Atkin MW, Oz Clarke, Sam Harrop MW, Charles Metcalfe, Derek Smedley MW and Peter McCombie MW. Every potential medal wine is tasted by a second tasting panel before it is awarded. To win a gold medal, a wine must receive between 95-100 points. Wines with points between 90-94 and 85-89 are awarded with silver and bronze medals respectively.

The full list of Austrian winners at the International Wine Challenge can be found here:

IWC AUSTRIA results 2012



Share →